All Section Chairs

Year Chair Institution
2023 Dr. Daniel McCurry Commonwealth University, Bloomsburg
2022 Dr. Allison Saunders Lycoming College
2021 Dr. Allison Saunders Lycoming College
2020 Dr. William Dougherty Susquehanna University
2019 Dr. William Dougherty Susquehanna University
2018 Dr. Nicola Edwards Misericordia University
2017 Dr. William Dougherty Susquehanna University
2016 Dr. Anne Szklarski King's College
2015 Dr. James Swan Bucknell University
2014 Dr. Geneive Henry Susquehanna University
2013 Dr. David Rovnyak Bucknell University
2012 Dr. Donald Mencer Wilkes University
2011 Mr. Ronald Blatchley Retired High School Teacher
2010 Dr. Robert Humphreys Retired
2008-09 Dr. Ronald Supkowski King's College
2007-08 Dr. William Simpson Eastman Kodak - Retired
2006 Dr. Karen Castle Bucknell University
2005 Dr. Deborah Hokien Marywood University
2004 Mr. William VandenHeuvel Merck retiree
2003 Dr. Tom Wood College Misericordia
2002 Dr. Timothy G. Strein Bucknell University
2001 Dr. Robert LaDuca King's College
2000 Dr. Donald Mencer Wilkes University
1999 Dr. Paul Bounora University of Scranton
1998 Dr. Larry Pedersen College Misericordia
1997 Dr. Christopher P. Hallen Bloomsburg University
1996 Dr. Dee Ann Casteel Bucknell University
1995 Mr. Peter F. Borza Harris Semiconductor
1994 Ms. Marsha A. Adams SSM Labs of Reading
1993 Dr. Margaret E. Kastner Bucknell University
1992 Dr. William R. Stine Wilkes University
1991 Dr. Michael E. Pugh Bloomsburg University
1990 Dr. Howard A. Swain Wilkes University
1989 Dr. Robert Nylund Susquehanna University
1988 Dr. Wayne Anderson Bloomsburg University
1987 Dr. Harold W. Heine Bucknell University
1986 Mr. Morris N. Slater RCA Corporation
1985 Dr. Gynith Giffin Susquehanna University
1984 Dr. Gynith Giffin Susquehanna University
1984 Dr. William Scouten Bucknell University
1983 Dr. Maurice Hart University of Scranton
1982 Dr. Francis Smith King’s College
1981 Dr. Larry Mack Bloomsburg University
1980 Dr. Owen D. Faut Wilkes College
1979 Dr. Norman White Bloomsburg University
1978 Dr. Raymond P. Borkowski King’s College
1977 Dr. David A. Franz Lycoming College
1976 Dr. Robert A. Sallavanti University of Scranton
1975 Dr. Charles A. Root Bucknell University
1974 Dr. C. Gus Vlassis Keystone College
1973 Dr. Neil Potter Susquehanna University
1972 Dr. Gynith Giffin Susquehanna University
1971 Dr. James Bohning Wilkes College
1970 Dr. Hans Veening Bucknell University
1969 Dr. James K. Hummer Lycoming College
1968 Dr. Jay A. Young King’s College
1967 Mr. Edward F. Hoover Wise Potato Chip Co.
1966 Mr. Fred W. Kocher Merck and Company
1965 Dr. John A. Radspinner Lycoming College
1964 Dr. Manning Smith Bucknell University
1963 Dr. George Hazen Merck and Company
1962 Dr. Frank Ramano Glyco Products Company
1961 Dr. Ben Willeford Bucknell University
1960 Dr. John T. Day Merck and Company
1958-59 Dr. Lester Kieft Bucknell University

Our Academic Partners

Bloomsburg University Bucknell University King's College Lycoming College Marywood University Misericordia University Penn State Hazleton Penn State Scranton Penn State Wilkes-Barre Susquehanna University University of Scranton Wilkes University


The Susquehanna Valley Section of the American Chemical Society began in 1958 and serves eight counties in PA:

The section provides services for the chemistry professionals, undergraduate chemistry students, and high school students of the area.


If you need more information or would like to submit information, E-mail our Local Section Webmaster at or the National ACS Webmaster.

To view many files on this website you will need a .pdf file reader. You can get one here: Adobe Reader